How to style Chokers

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 9.53.02 AM

I LOVE chokers. I think they are darling and can honestly be worn with just about anything. However, when I first noticed that chokers were coming back in style, I was a bit hesitant to jump on the train. My reasoning was that, to me, it seemed as though chokers were primarily worn by those who embraced the ‘grunge’ look.

Don’t get me wrong, I think the grunge look is amazing. I wish I could pull it off, but it just isn’t me. That being said, I LOVE to pull pieces from that style and incorporate them in ways that fit my individual style best. Chokers are one of those items.

I have since learned that chokers truly can be intertwined with nearly any style and even though they are popular with the grunge look, there are plenty of other ways to wear them as well.

Tips for styling chokers:

  • Chokers work best with lower necklines (v-neck, scoop-neck, sweetheart) NOT turtle-neck. Halter tops or dresses don’t work as well either since the fabric comes up high.
  • Most chokers look best with casual wear but depending on the type of choker, can also be worn with formal attire.
  • Black is a great color to wear with chokers, most chokers I’ve seen are black and tying it together with a shirt that is the same color, is a great way to create a simple and classic look.

My favorite way to wear them personally is with a tie-dye shirt and denim shorts. I am a huge fan of the late 90’s/early 00’s coming back and that is certainly a way to welcome it.

I hope you all found this helpful! If you want a visual guide to some outfit ideas for chokers, click the link below! What is your favorite way to rock this trend? Let me know in the comments! ❤

Fashion Reference for Chokers

3 thoughts on “How to style Chokers

  1. thecaramelchronicles says:

    I’ve recently started wearing chokers and love them. I definitely don’t rock the grunge look in general, but I actually wear them (plain black thin velvet ones) with smart work outfits (tailored cream blazer, black trousers etc..) to make them a little more casual and relaxed.

    Loving the blog, looking forward to seeing more posts from you!

    http://www.thecaramelchronicles.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

